Sometimes God Reveals-Sometimes He Doesnt (153)

Have you ever been reading something in the Bible and as you are reading, it’s like a lightbulb is coming on, but at the same time you still aren’t grasping the whole concept? I don’t think that this feeling is unique to scripture reading, as I’ve also had this feeling while doing math homework. The difference is, that I do eventually grasp the mathematical concepts. (Most of the time.) As Christians when we read God’s Word we aren’t reading it like any other book, we are reading it with help from the Holy Spirit who allows us to see new things each and every time we read.
There are somethings about God’s Word that we cannot grasp on this side of Glory. So when we read those passages here on earth, there will always be a part of it that we cant understand. I was reading Isaiah 55 this morning. I’ve probably read that chapter many times, but while I was reading it this time, new things were sticking out to me, It was like I was barely hanging on to each and every new idea that was being presented.

It’s such a good thing that the Spirit doesn’t just show us the same truth once! I feel like I’m such a slow learner. I go through a trial and seem to still struggle with the same things that I struggled with last time I went through a trial. I wish that my spiritual growth could be measured like my physical growth. Often times it’s a two steps forward one step back, but by God’s grace He doesn’t give up on me! This excerpt from today’s reading in “My Utmost for His Highest” really puts it best!

“Your growth in grace is not measured by the fact that you haven’t turned back, but that you have an insight and understanding into where you are spiritually. Have you heard God say, “Come up higher,” not audibly on the outer level, but to the innermost part of your character?”

I think that’s where I’m at. God is calling me “Come up higher.” My flesh wants to give up. It says “Im spiritual enough, aren’t I? I’m a good person just how I am!” A friends summed this up in a message she sent me. “Christy, I know you are being stretched beyond what you would want to be…” Exactly!! I hated moving a second time! I hated leaving Rich! I hated the new surroundings.Those things were stretching me; creating character you might say. But just being a good person with some character isn’t enough for God. He wants me to be completely sold out for Him- More than just a pew warmer on Sundays, but a completed devoted follower.

“Shall I hide from Abraham what I am doing….. God has to hide from us what He does, until, due to the growth of our personal character, we get to the level where He is then able to reveal it.”

Many times Im stuck in the place where God cant reveal to me what He is doing. Im not at a place spiritually, where He can trust me with such insight.

When I was in 2nd grade there was a lot of construction going on around my school. One day all of the teachers seemed to be in a panic and we weren’t allowed to eat lunch in the cafeteria. We had to stay in our classrooms all afternoon and couldn’t even cross over into the main building to use the restroom. I remember one of my classmates asking the teacher what was going on. The teacher looked at my classmate and didn’t answer. She just told us that we had to listen for instructions and obey. Later we found out that there was the threat of a gas leak and they didn’t want us to be outside or in the part of the building closest to where the leak was. My teacher choose not to share with us what was going because she knew that as little 2nd graders she would have a bunch of scared, crying kids on her hands. Fast forward a few years to 6th grade. We were carrying on like normal in our classroom reading silently to ourselves when my teacher got a phone call. She stepped out in the hallway to take the call and then re-entered the classroom with a look of worry on her face. She told us that an intruder had been reported in the building and we needed to turn off the lights and sit in the dark at the front of the classroom away from the door. We quickly moved into position until we were given the all clear to carry on like normal. The difference between those two instances was that as 2nd graders we couldn’t handle the scary information. As 6th graders we were mature enough to know what was going on and obey anyway.

That’s what God is doing with us. Sometimes He doesn’t reveal why He does things. As a matter of fact, so far in my life, God hasn’t reveal what He’s doing until after He’s done it.

God didn’t tell me why He moved me to Arkansas.

God didn’t share with me why He moved me back.

God didn’t tell me why He allowed Rich and I to get incredibly close.

Basically, God doesn’t owe me an explanation. God knows that if He told me why He does things, then it wouldn’t take faith for me to obey Him. I have to trust Him even when I cant see what He’s doing. I may never get to a place on this earth where He can tell why He does things. But because He has never failed anyone ever! I can trust Him!!

Today’s Blessings:

1.God’s Word coming alive each and every time I read it.

2.The Spirit that reveals new truths to me and helps me obey!

3.A God that has never failed!

-Christy

Leave a comment